Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Jul. 15, 2005 - 9:44 a.m.

Guess who is going to see Donny Osmond in concert tonight?

That would be me.


IF YOU WERE A GIRL IN THE 70'S

You made baby chocolate cakes in your Easy Bake Oven and washed them down with snow cones from your Snoopy Snow Cone Machine

**I never had an easybake. Shocker isn't it?

�You had that Fisher Price Doctor's Kit with a stethoscope that actually worked.

**I don't know if I had a Doctor's Kit, but we did have a stethoscope.

�You owned a bicycle with a banana seat and a plastic basket with flowers on it.

**Red, white, and blue with stars! But no basket.

�You learned to skate with actual skates (not roller blades) that had metal wheels.

** Yeah, on my front porch. I lived in the country remember.

�You thought Gopher from Love Boat was cute (admit it!)

** Not as cute as Starsky....

�You had nightmares after watching Fantasy Island.

*** No way! I *loved* Fantasy Island.

�You had rubber boots for rainy days and Moon boots for snowy days.

** I could only dream of having Moon boots.

�You had either a bowl cut or pixie cut not to mention the Dorothy Hamil because your Mom was sick of braiding your hair.

**Dorothy Hamil, I curse your name.

�People sometimes thought you were a boy.

** Yep.

Your Holly Hobbie sleeping bag was your most prized possession.

**Wasn't into Holly Hobbie. I had a maroon bag with a yellow zipper. I used to sleep in it on top of my bed.

You wore a poncho, gauchos, and knickers.

**Hand crocheted poncho from my Granny. It rocked.

You spent hours in your backyard on your metal swing set.

** I had a tire swing for the longest time. But then I finally got a swing set.

The swing set tipped over at least once.

** At least.

�You had homemade ribbon barrettes in every imaginable color.

** No way. That would have been too girly for this tomboy.

�You wanted to be Laura Ingalls Wilder really bad; you wore that Little House on the Prairie-inspired plaid, ruffle shirt with the high neck in at least one school picture; and you despised Nellie Olson!

** I didn't want to be one of the Wilders, but I did despise Nellie!

�You wanted your first kiss to be at a roller rink.

** Actually it was behind the barrels (some odd contraption we had in the playground we could crawl through).

�Your hairstyle was described as having wings or feathers and you kept it pretty with the comb you kept in your back pocket.

** I don't remember wings until high school and then I tried my best not to have them be too big.

You know who Strawberry Shortcake is, as well as her friends, Blueberry Muffin and Huckleberry Pie.

**�Yeah, fraid so.

�You carried a Muppets lunch box to school and it was metal, not plastic.

** I had a Pinocchio one.

You and your girlfriends would fight over which of the Dukes of Hazzard was your boyfriend.

** Again I have to play the Starsky card.

Every now and then It's A Hard Knock Life from the movie Annie will pop into your brain and you can't stop singing it the whole day.

** 'Stead of kisses, we get kicked.

It was a big event in your household each year when the Wizard of Oz would come on TV. Your mom would break out the popcorn and sleeping bags!

** You mean my maroon one with the yellow zipper?

You completely wore out your Grease, Saturday Night Fever, and Fame soundtrack record album.

** Sadly, I saw Grease 13 times when it came out on HBO when I was like 9 years old.

You used to tape record songs off the radio by holding your portable tape player up to the speaker.

** Ozzy's Crazy Train I taped off the radio while at my Granny's house in California. That's what made me a fan all those years ago.

You learned everything you needed to know about girl issues from Judy Blume books.

** Judy Blume rocks!

You thought Olivia Newton John's song Physical was about aerobics. (Ladies, please say this one ain't so!)
** uh..yeah�afraid so. On of my basketball coaches used to walk around singing "Let's get a physical, physical." when it was that time of the year when all the athletes had to get a physical.

�You wore friendship pins on your tennis shoes, or shoelaces with heart or rainbow designs.

** Nope.


You wanted to be a Solid Gold dancer.

** Nope.

You had a Big Wheel with a brake on the side, and a Sit-n-Spin.

** I had a Hugger which was kinda like a Big Wheel, but it was made of metal. I have a scar on my knee from it. I also have a scar on my knee from my motorcycle.

You had subscriptions to Dynamite and Tiger Beat.

** Dynamite and Mad Magazine.

You spent all your allowance on smurfs and stickers for your sticker album!

** Uh, no. I bought Richie Rich and Archie comic books.

previous - next





www.flickr.com
Sherrypg's photos More of Sherrypg's photos

The Boy's Birthday Countdown!
Lilypie Baby Ticker

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!